Winter Solstice - Katherine Hayton

The Three Deaths of Magdalene Lynton.

Twists, turns, and surprises . . .

Magdalene Lynton died forty years ago: a vivacious teenager who fell victim to an obscene, accidental drowning. The coroner's office issued a verdict of death by misadventure and filed her case. The farming commune she'd lived within, splintered apart. Her body was left behind in a small, private cemetery encircled by acres of fallow ground. 

Until Paul Worthington confessed to her murder.

Magdalene's case lands with Ngaire Blakes, a Maori detective recovering from a brutal stabbing. After fighting for the resources to investigate, Ngaire discovers that Paul's confession doesn't fit with the facts of Magdalene's death. The trouble is, neither does the original verdict. 

Together with her partner, Deb, Ngaire digs deeper into the case to uncover inconsistencies, lies, and mortal danger.

The Three Deaths of Magdalene Lynton is the first book in a new series of mystery novels set in the deep shadows of New Zealand. If you savor tightly raveled mysteries, strong female leads, and psychologically unsettled minds, then you'll enjoy Katherine Hayton's opening story in a compelling new trilogy.

Buy The Three Deaths of Magdalene Lynton to unravel the mystery today.

About Katherine

Katherine Hayton is a middle-aged woman who works in insurance, doesn't have children or pets, can't drive, has lived in Christchurch her entire life, and resides a two-minute walk from where she was born. 

For some reason, she's developed a rich fantasy life. 

To confuse readers, Katherine also publishes under the pen name Lee Hayton. The horror of the world knowing her middle name is outweighed by the convenience of fitting the shorter nom de plume onto book covers. Something she now wishes she'd discovered and implemented far sooner. 

If you want to find out when new releases are due (no matter what she's calling herself) and to receive goodies not available elsewhere (of a readerly variety - no threat of weight-gain) please sign-up for her newsletter over on

If you're reading this on her author page you can gain a similar result by pressing the Follow button under her picture up above (but without all the joy of receiving free stuff).

Katherine's latest novel is The Second Stage of Grief - a 2016 Kindle Scout Winner - and is the second in the Ngaire Blakes Mystery series. The first Ngaire Blakes novel - The Three Deaths of Magdalene Lynton - was also a Kindle Scout Winner, and published by Kindle Press in March 2016. 

She spends far too much time hanging about on Twitter @kathay1973 if you want to connect, and is now tired of referring to herself in the third person so is signing off.

Lincoln Cole

Lincoln Cole is a Columbus-based author who enjoys traveling and has visited many different parts of the world, including Australia and Cambodia, but always returns home to his pugamonster and wife. His love for writing was kindled at an early age through the works of Isaac Asimov and Stephen King and he enjoys telling stories to anyone who will listen.

He has won multiple literary awards for his novels. He has also been a bestseller in multiple different categories.